Welcome to the SPARC Workshop SHARP2016!

The SPARC Workshop SHARP2016 addresses the current status and future directions in the research area „Stratospheric Change and its Role for Climate Prediction“ (SHARP).

SHARP2016 is initiated by the German research unit SHARP, which has been funded by the German Research Foundation between 2009 and 2015. Research in SHARP has been inspired and focused on the scientific themes of the World Climate Research Programme, WCRP, core project Stratosphere-Troposphere Processes and their Role in Climate (SPARC). Four specific research topics were selected by SHARP:

  • Brewer-Dobson Circulation
  • Stratospheric Ozone
  • Stratosphere-Troposphere Coupling
  • Stratospheric Water Vapour.

The SHARP2016 workshop will be the closing event of the research unit. The goal is to bring together SHARP scientists and international colleagues

  • to describe and summarize the progress achieved within the SHARP research group,
  • to present the current research in a broader international perspective, and
  • to discuss open issues, needs and potential future research.

The workshop will be structured along four sessions covering the SHARP themes. Oral plenary sessions will begin with a keynote lecture giving an overview on the current status of knowledge. Poster sessions will allow in-depth discussions.

Attendance is limited to 100 participants.

Registration deadline:
23 December 2015

The workshop will start on Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 09:30, with an opening session. Tuesday afternoon to Friday noon are reserved for oral and poster sessions. The conference will end on Friday with session summaries in the afternoon. The registration desk will be open on Monday (15.02.2016) from 17:00 to 19:00 and Tuesday (16.02.2016) from 08:00 to 09:30.

Confirmed keynote speakers

Mark Baldwin (University of Exeter, UK)
Thomas Birner (Colorado State University, USA)
Stefan Fueglistaler (Princeton University, USA)
Neil Harris (University Cambridge, UK)
Wolfgang Steinbrecht (Deutscher Wetterdienst, Germany)

Invited speakers

Natalia Calvo Fernandez (Universidad Complutense Madrid, Spain)
Martyn Chipperfield (University of Leeds, UK)
Hella Garny (DLR Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany)
Ed Gerber (New York University, USA)
Michaela Hegglin (University Reading, UK)
Donal Murtagh (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden)
Markus Rex (AWI, Potsdam, Germany)
Martin Riese (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany)
Karen Rosenlof (NOAA, USA)
Ted Shepherd (University Reading, UK)
Holger Voemel (NCAR, USA)
Blanca Ayarzagüena (University of Exeter, UK)
Sophie Godin-Beekmann (CNRS/UVSQ/UPMC, France)
Pawan Bhartia (NASA, USA)

Scientific Organising Committee

Ulrike Langematz (Freie Universität Berlin)
Harald Bönisch (Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main)
John Burrows (Universität Bremen)
Martin Dameris (DLR Oberpfaffenhofen)
Neil Harris (SPARC)
Patrick Jöckel (DLR Oberpfaffenhofen)
Gabriele Stiller (Karlsruhe Institut für Technologie)
Hauke Schmidt (Max-Planck Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg)
Mark Weber (Universität Bremen)

The SHARP2016 workshop is kindly supported by: